Our friends at TestingMom.com sent Abacus Mom this top ISEE guide for students and parents.

The Independent School Entrance Exam, or the “ISEE”, is an achievement and reasoning test that is used to evaluate children around the country for private school entry. The ISEE was developed by the Educational Records Bureau (ERB), as an important part of their admissions criteria. It is worth mentioning that although the ISEE scores are an important component of the student’s application, additional factors such as school records and interviews also determine entry into a school.

You may be wondering which grade levels qualify to sit for this exam. Currently, the ISEE can be given to students in 2nd grade through high school. It is offered to students at four different levels with each level consisting of four sections plus an optional section.

The four levels are as follows:

Primary- Students entering grades 2-4

Lower- Students entering grades 5-6

Middle- Students entering grades 7-8

Upper- Students entering grade 9-12

The ISEE has five sections (Verbal Reasoning, Quantitative Reasoning, Math Achievement, Reading Comprehension as well as an optional writing exercise). Except for the primary level, all ISEE levels include five sections. The primary level only has reading, math, and optional writing sections. Students entering 2nd grade will be provided with an auditory (listening) section, as well.

The next question you may be asking yourself is both “where” and “how” is the ISEE administered? Your student has a few options! A student has the choice of taking part in “large group testing” at school, or “small group testing” that is offered at a variety of testing offices. Currently the test is offered in both an online and paper-based format (The primary level is only available online). Both formats contain the same number of questions, as well as the same timing.

For more info, go to TestingMom.com.